Awards - Frequently Asked Questions

Your awards questions, answered

We’ve answered the most common questions about the BCI Awards here. Can’t find the answer? Get in touch.

Who can make a nomination?

The awards are open to anyone who meets the criteria of the related category with the exception of organizations that have an outstanding debt to the BCI that is outside of the agreed terms and conditions. These organizations are not eligible to enter the BCI awards.

Is there any cost to enter?

No – it’s completely free to enter the BCI Awards.

Can I nominate myself or my own company?

We accept self-nominated and third party entries for both organizations and individuals.

How many submissions can be made for the same individual or organization?

There are no limits to how many unique submissions can be made by an individual or organization as long as they meet the eligibility requirements for the category / region.

Which region’s awards should I enter?

There are six BCI regions (Africa, Asia Pacific, Europe, India & South Asia, Middle East, and the Americas) 

For an individual they must live, work or be responsible for a region that they wish to enter. For an organisation they must have a registered office or be able to demonstrate (as part of the submission) customers or activity in that region.

Can I enter the Global Awards without entering a Regional Awards?

No, you must enter the appropriate regional award.

How do I enter?

Easy – just select your region and category, then complete the online application form. You’ll get an on-screen notification and an email to confirm we’ve received your entry.

Can I enter more than one category?

Yes, you can enter as many categories as you want. Just make sure that you meet the eligibility criteria for each category before submitting.

The only exception is for individuals in the BCI Hall of Fame – you cannot enter the category for which you received your Hall of Fame induction for 3 years after the date of your entry into the Hall of Fame.

Can I enter for more than one region?

You are permitted to enter unique submissions for different regions provided your entry meets the qualifying criteria.

What’s required for references?

We need a formal statement supporting the submitted nomination. We will not accept simply, a name, email address and telephone number. References/testimonials are accepted from: customers, stakeholders, clients, colleagues. References are not mandatory but it may disadvantage your entry when it is judged if you do not supply them.

What format should attachments be?

Please make sure than any relevant supporting documents are provided in PDF or PowerPoint format only.

Is my submission confidential?

Yes – all awards submissions are treated as highly confidential. Only the BCI Awards team and judging panel will view them.

How are judges selected?

Judges are selected from a pool of experienced BCI members. Each one is asked to declare any interests they have such as former colleagues or employers so that the judging process is carried out fairly.

What happens after I submit?

Sit back and wait, in the meantime we will:

  • Review all submissions against the set criteria (if you’ve missed anything important, we’ll contact you to clarify)
  • Send all submissions to the judging panel for scoring
  • Finalise the scores
  • Let you know if you’ve been shortlisted
  • Announce the shortlists on the BCI website and social media channels
  • Announce the winners at the regional awards ceremonies

I am unable to attend the awards ceremony, what happens if I win?

If you have made the shortlist, the BCI will then make contact to find out if you are attending the awards ceremony. If you are unable to make the event, we will ask you to provide us with contact details of someone who could collect your award on your behalf if you win.

How are the winners determined?

Each of the judges ranks the entries in order of preference. The winner will be the entry with most 1st places. If these are tied then 2nd places, 3rd places etc. will be taken into account. If there is a tie then the Head of Judges will have a casting vote.

If there is only 1 entry for a category then judges will be asked to recommend whether any award should be made or not.

Will I receive feedback from a submission?

No, feedback is not given on submissions.

How does the Hall of Fame work?

If a person wins an award in the same category on 3 occasions (regional or global) then they are entered into the Hall of Fame. For the following 3 years individuals will be unable to enter that category in any region.

Is being shortlisted or winning a BCI award a recommendation by the BCI?

No. Being shortlisted for or winning a BCI award is not a recommendation by the BCI. If you or your organization is planning to engage with a BCI award winner in any way then you should carry out the usual due diligence that would normally be required.